I'm fitting a 10.5kw Electric shower but unsure of MCB

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I currently have a 8.5kw Triton Electric Shower but it's playing up, so i'm changing it for a 10.5kw Aqualisa.

Now i'm no expert but like to think I have my head screwed on.

The problem I have is that I know for a 10.5kw Electric shower I need 10.0mm T&E and I currently have 6.0mm from consumer unit to 45a switch, then (heres the interesting bit) from the 45a switch is 6.0mm but when I took the front off the shower then Hey Presto 10.00mm T&E, which leads me to believe theres some dodgy going ons in the loft.

Anyway i,m going to replace the whole run in 10.0mm but its the connection to the consumer unit i'm not sure of.

The current shower is a 8.5kw and it goes to a 45amp switch then to the consumer unit on a 40Amp RCD. It is about a 10Mtr run, 4 mtrs in my loft which has 6" insulation and is boarded, then comes down into the airing cupboard and is clipped to the wall (3mtrs) then goes underfloor and drops to consumer unit (3mtrs).

Should it be on a 40Amp RCD or on the MCB side of the unit and also is 40Amp enough? Or should I install the shower and if it trips upgrade RCD?

As I said earlier I'm not a profesional but I am Keen

Any help in this matter would be greatfully appreciated!

Sponsored Links
10.5kW @ 240V is 43.75A so you will have to keep the 45A mcb.

It should be on the RCD side of the CU.

Actually 6mm² cable would be alright but it must not run through any thermal insulation or conduit.

Even 10mm² could be too small through or covered by thermal insulation so make sure the cable is free of any thermal insulation.

Hi, dont have a pull cord but a 45Amp switch in airing cupboard. its currently on a 40amp breaker on consumer unit.

Thanks for replies.

James

Sponsored Links