Immersion solar controller switch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Morning guys, first post here so please be gentle. :)
We had solar panels fitted recently and I bought one of these to control our immersion automatically when the panels generate enough power ... http://www.reuk.co.uk/Water-Heating-with-Surplus-Solar-PV.htm
Unfortunately, our electrician has failed to show up 3 times to fit it.
So I'm thinking of having a stab at it myself as I have some basic knowledge of electrics and have fitted new sockets and light fittings myself in the past.
My question is, can I fit it in parallel with our existing timer switch and if so, does it have to be on the same feed from the consumer unit or can I use a separate feed from a socket ?

Sponsored Links
That controller does not detect that that the panels are producing surplus energy that can be used for water heating. It detects that the sunlight is above a threshold level and assumes that there will be spare for water heating.

The spectral response of the light dependent resistor may not match that of the photo voltaic panels so may in some weather conditions give false indications that there is surplus power

That controller does not detect that that the panels are producing surplus energy that can be used for water heating. It detects that the sunlight is above a threshold level and assumes that there will be spare for water heating.

The spectral response of the light dependent resistor may not match that of the photo voltaic panels so may in some weather conditions give false indications that there is surplus power

Yes, I understand how it works and I'm aware of its limitations and that it won't be as accurate as a CT based controller.
This is just a cheaper alternative I found to some of the more expensive controllers until they come down in price a bit and it's had decent feedback.

Sponsored Links