Inside corner beads rusted

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Hi, I'm a newbie here and building a house. My contractor left me, and the house is new but half-finished. It is close enough to finish, but I have trouble with some details. I don't know if they used galvanized corner beads, but they already started showing rust on some edges (photos). I was going to paint the rooms next week so they will be finished (yay!), but I am seeking your help if they need treatment before I use my paint. What's the recommended procedure?

Thanks for your help!

Photo on 12-29-23 at 12.01.jpg
Photo on 12-29-23 at 12.01 #2.jpg

Sponsored Links
If he has done a runner the option to make him replace the beads is not viable sadly.
Either get another plasterer to replace the beads of have a go yourself.
You can try a couple of coats of Zinsser

Sponsored Links
It concret bricks from 2008. The shell was built just before the financial crash. I bought it recently and we decided to insulate extra... so the insulation is inside and then plasterboard on the outer walls. Does that make sense?

I was curious as to whether it may have been a traditional building that originally had lime plaster that had reacted with the beads which from your reply is not the case. Is the room an area of potential high humidity?
I dont know why they actually beaded on internal corners.

Interesting. The photos I sent are from one of the windows in one of the bedrooms. It is not the only window and beaded internal corner that I noticed showing and rusty. This house has been drying out over the past year, there shouldn't be high humidity. Its dry and warm inside... hence why I was so surprised seeing the rust.

I've had a few rusty - my DIY plastering scraping the zinc off. Once painted nothing has come through. I'd take a chance, I'm sure you've got bigger fish to fry!

DIYnot Local

Staff member