Installing new hearth

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I have a question. In our living room we have a fireplace which a working chimney. As during housing renovations I deemed it too expensive to remove the chimney we decided to renovate the existing fireplace.

We got the chimney cleaned and got an estimate to line it and install a woodburning stove in it.

The old owners never used the fireplace. The tiles on the hearth are smashed up and to save costs I would like to replace them myself. Do you think it is easier to buy some slate tiles (from a normaly DIY shop) and tile them myself or should I get a piece of slate cut to size. I am worried to if I order it it may not fit. And how do you do the edges.

Also at the back wall of the fireplace on the other side we have a plug socket so I wanted to line the back wall with a fireproof plasterboard. Do you have any advice on the product.

I am sorry for all the questions but I am complete novice.

Sponsored Links
You have an existing hearth, is it raised above the floor or is the tiled surface level with the floor? I have retiled an old hearth once and the results were presentable though not quite as good as I had wanted, the reason was that the exposed edges of the top tiles were not finished off properly (wrong tiles?). So that's the first thing check your slate tiles and see what sort of edge they have. If you went in for a cut slate slab, they are heavy and will need at least two people to move it, the edges will need to be polished and if its a raised hearth, you still have to do the underneath edges.