Is draining & refilling bad for the system

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've got two or three jobs to do on my Combi Boiler CH system:-

1. take out some redundant copper pipework
2. fit 2 new radiators
3. fit TRVs

I'm a bit of a novice so I'd like to do these a bit at a time and this will involve draining and refilling the system three or more times. My question is: Is this bad for the system, to drain and refill it so many times?

When I had the old CH system, before I got the combi boiler, I seem to remember that it was supposed to be bad for your system to keep draining & refilling it.

Sponsored Links
It shouldn't be a problem. Just make sure you put inhibitor in when filling back up. It could be beneficial to add a cleaner the first time you fill up. You can then let this circulate with the heating on for a couple of weeks before draining again. At least this will help remove any dirt from the system.
The problem with old vented style systems when draining and refilling is that you can easily get airlocks which can hinder circulation and cause the boiler to overheat. This isn't a problem with combi boilers and sealed systems.

It shouldn't be a problem. Just make sure you put inhibitor in when filling back up. It could be beneficial to add a cleaner the first time you fill up. You can then let this circulate with the heating on for a couple of weeks before draining again. At least this will help remove any dirt from the system.
The problem with old vented style systems when draining and refilling is that you can easily get airlocks which can hinder circulation and cause the boiler to overheat. This isn't a problem with combi boilers and sealed systems.

Thanks for that info. So do you mean I should put inhibitor in each time I refill after draining or just the last time ie. when I've done all my jobs?