is it my pump and why?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi
I've read all the threads and can't find one that covers my problem completely.
I'm a bit of a layman but here goes...

1) My boiler is alight and i have hot water but no heating.
I have a Potterton boiler and hot water tank and all the pipes etc in the airing cupboard.
I've lived here for 16 years and have had the pump replaced twice before.
The pump is hot and it is making a slight humming/buzzing sound if i listen closely.
I removed the screw in the centre and a lot of air came out (and a little hot water) but i couldn't notice it spinning inside. is it obvious?
Is there anything i should or could do to a) check if its jammed and b) free whatever it is thats jammed, if it is?
How can i be certain it needs replacing? they're fairly expensive if i remember rightly?

2) I live in brighton and the water leaves a lot of deposit in the kettle could that be whats happening in my system too? and if so, what can i do to prevent it in future and save having to buy a new pump every 5 or 6 years and avoid whatever other damage it may be doing within my system?

many thanks

manylayers :mrgreen:

Sponsored Links
A quality pump on a clean, well designed and maintained system should last many years.
I work in Brighton and know pumps that are at least 20 years old and working fine. Others that are 2 years old and have been killed by been put on dirty badly configered systems.
If you remove screw on end of pump you should be able to see pump spinning if it has power to it, or put a screwdriver gently in and tou will hear and feel the shaft rotate if it is working.
If you want to email me for further advice then look at my profile for my eddress

manylayers said:
How can i be certain it needs replacing?
Check that the F&E is full.

Run the system when it's completely cold and see if the pump turns then.

See if runs if you turn it to start it manually.

they're fairly expensive if i remember rightly?