Is this TRV what is stopping my rad from heating up?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Complete novice so please explain slowly o_O

Had to take off rad to decorate wall. That bit went well.

Put rad back on and reversed the process.

Opened lockshield valve > Opened up thermostatic valve > Bled rad.

Radiator is still cold. All others are hot.

Took off the thermostatic valve and it looks like this inside. Is this the culprit or am I missing something else here?

Thanks!

Attachments

• Screenshot 2021-09-17 at 18.38.39.png
    Screenshot 2021-09-17 at 18.38.39.png
    2.4 MB · Views: 113
Sponsored Links
Probably knackered, just get a new head.
Does it work without sensor attached?
If not, pin may be stuck down, gently ease it up with pliers.

Probably knackered, just get a new head.
Does it work without sensor attached?
If not, pin may be stuck down, gently ease it up with pliers.

Pin isn't stuck down (moves about 5mm when I press it).

By new head do you mean replace the whole thing that is in my picture?

Should the rad heat up with that removed if the pin isn't stuck?

Apols for the dumb ass questions! Cheers

Sponsored Links
Complete novice so please explain slowly o_O

Had to take off rad to decorate wall. That bit went well.

Put rad back on and reversed the process.

Opened lockshield valve > Opened up thermostatic valve > Bled rad.

Radiator is still cold. All others are hot.

Took off the thermostatic valve and it looks like this inside. Is this the culprit or am I missing something else here?

Thanks!
Do you have an open vented system, with F/E tank in the loft? In that case the system would fill automatically as you bled the rad. But if it's a pressurised system, with expansion vessel, it would need repressurising. Did you bleed until water came out?