Join 2 PIR lights together so either sensor sets it off

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I currently have a PIR enabled lantern shaped light in my porch which is connected to another normal light on the front of the garage. When the PIR activates both lights come on.
I need to replace the light on the garage side and have a spare lantern light (same as the one in my porch).

How would I wire these so either sensor would set off both lights and would there be any problems?

Thankyou.

Sponsored Links
I am not an electrician and don't have the time to draw a diagram, but I suspect that you will need to use 4 core cable to link the two L1 connectors.

I am not an electrician and don't have the time to draw a diagram, but I suspect that you will need to use 4 core cable to link the two L1 connectors.
That shouldn't be necessary. Provided that both PIRs have S/L 'outputs' available, just 3-core between the PIRs should suffice (and only 2-core feeding them, unless a 'central over-ride' was wanted).

Kind Regards, John

Sponsored Links
It depends on how the PIR works, with stand alone never had a problem, but with some built in the solid state unit is affected by a supply to the output, I think it uses a small amount of current through the unit to power the unit, so if power to both input and output it has no power to work it.

It depends on how the PIR works, with stand alone never had a problem, but with some built in the solid state unit is affected by a supply to the output,
As I said ....
..... Provided that both PIRs have S/L 'outputs' available, ...
... and I obviously meant S/L outputs at LV.