king garage door

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi guys

has anyone got experience to share on garage doors.

what it is i have been renovating my garage by removing flat roof and replacing it with onduline corrugated bitumen one and brickin up a old window that isnt needed, however i do have a garage door that is some what defunkt.
i called out a repair guy as im only a adult student mechanic and knew very little about garage doors
the guy said its a king door who is said to have gone bust so parts would be difficult to locate(not true parts are plentifull) he said he could replace the cones and cable for £150 + vat and recomended work on the wooden frame which was rotten at a added rate of £250( the wood cost me £8 to replace to the top cross member section)

he went on to try to sell me a new door and frame for 550 quide for up and over verticle door 7x7 but didnt stop there...he then went on to try and sell me a sectional insulated garage door for £1000.00....my garage is detached and dont need insulation!!
but wait he didnt stop there neither he thought he got me for the door showing me picture from a brochure..he then went on to try to sell me a sectional insulated door with a second hand electric motor for a woppin £1350 cash no receipt so vat man dont know nothing he said.

either way i took the mfr name from the brochure...tenkerupt or somert like that in warrington..i look at websites and found the parts he said he would replace for £150+ vat for a staggering £15.00 yep 15 quid so i looked on ebay to find the same parts for 12 quid along with motors for 100 quid and so fourth.

so i can order parts no problem..the problem is

the garage door fell off some years ago..the spring came away from teh cross member the rollers came out of the runners and the cable went loose.