Kitchen/Diner extension and house layout help please - moving stairs too

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
current.png
Proposed.png

Hi, can anyone who knows about house/building design etc give some feedback regarding the proposed drawings, ground and 1st floor. I have attached current and proposed? Is moving the stairs into the living room area a good idea (Note: I'm thinking of knocking the wall between the living room and playroom down too, to make it a bit more open plan)?
The main reason for putting the stairs in the living room area is because that is the highest point in the loft (for a future loft extension, continue stairs to the loft from the 1st floor), I live in a conservation area so cant change the shape of the roof (apart from a small dorma in the rear roof slope) etc.

This is my first time posting so if I missed any key info please let me know.

Thanks for your time

Sponsored Links
I too was after similar feedback when I started my project. Canvassed a couple of architect friends and acquaintances but didn't get much in the way of helpful info. One said "this design is terrible, you should have given it to me to do in the first place. But maybe I'll look at it and tell you what I'd change" to which I said "and maybe then I'll give you the job of redesigning it". She didn't, so I didn't and I proceeded with my design. The other one was much more helpful even though there were only a couple of off the cuff comments about ensuite bathroom sizing, and a complaint that I'd used 45 degree angles in a building so I clearly hadn't a clue what I was doing

Ultimately, I'm really pleased with what I designed because it represents exactly how I want my house to work for what I want and I can pretty much justify every decision I've made with regards to light fall, heights, room positioning, structural member hiding, and so on. I'm sure that any number of websites can give you the basics of things to consider but: