kitchen electrics and safe zones

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Quick question. Imagine a kitchen worktop with a ring main above the worktop with double sockets. A DP switch is on that ring main switching a spured socket below the worktop for a socket for a washing machine. I know that cable runs have to be vertical or horizontal if between accessories but if the DP switch can't be directly vertical above the socket (if there is a sink above for example), how can this be achieved if you can't drop below the worktop and then do a 90deg to behind the washing machine.

Probably clear as mud!!

Regards

James

Sponsored Links
Just waiting for the Part P responses to come along.., in the meantime I believe that you can cable outside of safe zones if the cable is more than 5cm deep in the wall or run through suitable metal conduit and RCD protected.

But I'm no expert, I'm sure your part p electrician will be able to tell you.

In theory the DP switch creates a "safe zone" vertically above and below it and the socket creates a "safe zone" horizontally either side of it so the bend wil be at the intersection of two "safe zones".

Unfortunately many people ( other than good electricians ) do not know about (un) "safe zones" so the cables are not really safe even when in a "safe zone".

I would put a back box and blank front plate where the cable changes direction as a marker.

I would not put the socket directly behind the machine but to one side where it can be accessed for checking, replacing the fuse without having to move the machine.

I would put a back box and blank front plate where the cable changes direction as a marker.

Trouble is, in a kitchen the marker is likely to be hidden behind a unit (as I found the other day when removing a unit).

Sponsored Links
I suggest you use steel conduit - start looking on eBay for a second hand bender.