Kitchen Electrics

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
is it true that the side wall of a kitchen cupboard can no longer be used to mount a 13a socket on,as the N I C have stated that it has to be within the fabric of the building, in other words on the back wall.
What about the kitchen with an island which I have had with appliances.
I have found with over forty years experience that the best way is hole at the back of the dividing wall adjacent to the appliance for the plug top,mini trunking on the dividing wall with 13a socket to the front.

Super Sparks

Sponsored Links
Hi
is it true that the side wall of a kitchen cupboard can no longer be used to mount a 13a socket on,as the N I C have stated that it has to be within the fabric of the building, in other words on the back wall.
What about the kitchen with an island which I have had with appliances.
I have found with over forty years experience that the best way is hole at the back of the dividing wall adjacent to the appliance for the plug top,mini trunking on the dividing wall with 13a socket to the front.

Super Sparks

First I've heard about that rule, and more to the point is that you follow the regs laid down by the IEE. NICEIC think that they rule the roost, but they don't just yet!

IMO A "fitted kitchen" is as much a part of the building fabric as stud wall. However, I would only mount accessories inside cupboards as a last resort because they can become inaccessible and there is normally a better way around the problem.

But when it comes to an island, there are not many other suitable options so I can't see a problem as long as the accessory is accessible in normal use, i.e. not at the back of a cupboard.

The NIC try and promote "best practice" as well as conformance to 7671 but at times best practice is not always achievable and they know that