Kitchen sink plumbing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

hoping someone can help me - complete novice so go easy on me! lol i've replaced the kitchen sink and installed dishwasher however get "gurgling" and ticking noises whenever dishwasher drains or a lot water goes down sink... i'm assuming it's how i've connected it all up, after reading believe my P Trap isn't installed properly....

the pipe going out the wall is quite low so i connected it like the pics... as the trap has cracked, looking to replace it and thought while i'm at it might as well get some advice on it and reconfig if needed...

i don't really want to higher drain pipe coming out of wall, could i just extend pipe so P Trap is lower? just seem like a lot of pipework... what would everyone else recommend or is there anything wrong in the setup or a "neater" way i could of done it?

any advice would be appreciated. (Btw that's the "old" shelf on the floor you can see, took it off while reconfiguring pipework.

how it used to be plumbed, before sink 1/2 and DW...

3.jpg

1.jpg

2.jpg

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Fit an anti syphon trap instead of the existing one and move the washer to the inlet above the existing one. Think that should resolve it, unless I missed something (it's late :sleep:)

Can you configure the dishwasher drain pipe so that it exits from the machine, ascends to a level at the top of the machine and then descends gently into your trap? As it is, the dishwasher drain can't fully empty.
John :)