kitchen water damage quote

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
my sisters house was damaged due to burst pipes over xmas, the nearby kitchen units are write offs, the insurance are going to take care of it but only the nearest carcase and worktop, we have had a local joinery firm out for a quote and they said

1000 quid for a 2000mm worktop , cut out for a sink, no joints just scribe to wall and a large ish carcass, this really cant be right can it?

what should it be?

thanks tom

Sponsored Links
what did the insurance say ??

usually get 3 quotes then they give the go ahead
but dont do anything untill you know there requirements

the insurance just said get a quote, dont care who, just said its only for one base unit and a worktop though

im only an apprentice but i knew that they were havin a laugh £1000

i could do it myself for less than a tonne

thanks tom

Crikey, at that price, I could probably do with one of those jobs once a month, then take the rest of the month off. ;) ;) ;)

If the insurance company have accepted that quote, then their assessor needs his head examining.

Sponsored Links
a misunderstanding somewhere or " eyes light up" insurance job :eek:

The OP hasn't mentioned materials and finish - what the existing worktop and carcase are. Could be handmade, hardwood, needing bespoke manufacturing and finishing, then fitting, possibly hand painting - so until this is known the £1000 quote is difficult to comment upon.

hi thanks for the help, its all veneered chipboard, c*ap really,
if i went along to howdens or somewhere i could get it all for about 80 quid
, i think as big all says, insurance jobbie so they can charge stupid money

what do you think is a sensible quote for,

one bog standard base unit
and one bog standard worktop at 2000mm aprox

thanks again
tom

Bog standard base unit, around £40-£60, door for same £20. 2m worktop £60-£80. Labour to install and plumb sink in etc £100 (whole job should take less than one day)