LandLord Certificates

• Thread starter Simonbeasley1
  • Start date
S

Simonbeasley1

In a weeks time i will be starting my Gas foundation course. As a plumber i get asked to do Landlord certificates in which i decline as not GSR'd.

With my foundation course i need to provide the relevant 'on the job' experience for the that ACS module i will be taken. I beleive i have sufficient for CEN1 at this stage.

So if i pass my acs, join as an operative on my friends firm. Will i be able to issue Landlord certificates? or do i need to hold ACS modules in Gas fires, Cookers etc?

idealy i like to have sufficient eveidence for all of these modules and more but in reality i doubt if i will get the services, installs etc in before mid aug to satisfy the on the job experience.

regards

Simon

Sponsored Links
If you have CCN1 and CEN1 you can issue CP12's for boilers

to issue on other types of appliane you MUST have the appropriate ACS module

it sucks

:)

thanks Corgiman

I thought that would be the case oh well just need to find a few fires, hot air, cookers to service by mid aug.

why does it suck? How can you be confident something is safe unless you are qualified and know exactly what to look for?

Sponsored Links
When you have just passed your acs, you should not be sent out on your own to do any gaswork, especially not lgcs work. Lots of dodgy landlords that have done some clever diy to hide dangerous defects, and obscene lack of maintenance.
It takes a while to learn what to look for, and without that knowledge, you are bound to declare installations safe.
The last one I did for example, was completely boxed in, hiding a defective flue.
The one before that, the tenant had used the flue as an aerial mounting. You probably would have spotted that, if you realised the flue needs visual inspection from outside. I had no access to the garden, but insisted on looking through the bedroom window, and voila.