leaking fibre glass flat roof

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I have recently fibre glassed a flat roof on a new dormer loft conversion I am building and i have just notice today that the sterling boards are extremely wet in places! I have no previous experience with fibre glass but i felt with a bit of research it was possible to do it myself(maybe not eh!). I carried the work out when it was dry and I used 1 layer of fibre glass matt which i soaked thoroughly in resin, when the resin was slightly still sticky but not quite set I then poured and rolled out the top coat. It looks and feels great from above but is obvioulsy leaking in places. Any ideas much appreciated. Thanks

Sponsored Links
is it the underside of the boards is wet? If so, could it be condensation?

Thanks for your replies. I did wonder if it was condensation but the joists are well ventilated and the borads were really wet from underneath but it did sem to be concentrated on the left and right sides.....I wonder if it is anything to do with the moulded raised edges and mabybe it is tracking along them somehow. I am thinking about giving it another thick top coat to see if that does anything.

Sponsored Links
How does the water drain from the roof and is there a drip edge designed into your fibreglass roof. There are lots of ways water will ingress and usually they are caused by poor design. Without looking at what you have done it will be difficult to comment on how to solve your problem. Any chance of some pictures??