leaking fibre glass flat roof

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I have recently fibre glassed a flat roof on a new dormer loft conversion I am building and i have just notice today that the sterling boards are extremely wet in places! I have no previous experience with fibre glass but i felt with a bit of research it was possible to do it myself(maybe not eh!). I carried the work out when it was dry and I used 1 layer of fibre glass matt which i soaked thoroughly in resin, when the resin was slightly still sticky but not quite set I then poured and rolled out the top coat. It looks and feels great from above but is obvioulsy leaking in places. Any ideas much appreciated. Thanks

Sponsored Links
We've not ventured into glass fibre ourselves but could it be a condensation issue where vapour is penetrating the boarding and condensing on the underside of the glass fibre?

Hi did you consolidate the resin and mat,what i mean by this is did you make sure there were no air and no pin holeing in the mat.Also why is the dormer not a warm roof constrution.

Thanks to both for replying, much appreciated. I am pretty sure it is rain water because it is really wet in places and bone dry in others. I used a metal ridged roller to spread out the resin on the fibre glass. I actually poured the resin on the roof and then lay the mat ontop and then rollered it and if required added more resin. I suppose it could be pin holed if i didn't roller it enough?

Is it worth giving it another good thick covering of top coat. Will it bond to the roof now? In places you can see and feel the matting fibres...could this let in water?

Thanks again both

Sponsored Links
Fair do's for having a go but youve wasted your time and money.
You shouldnt really be able to see and feel the fibres after topcoating for one thing.