Lean-to type vaulted ceiling/roof - how to construct one?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm about to embark on an extension project to the rear of my house - 2x4. The only part I have very little experience of is roofing and I want to create a vaulted ceiling look.

Can anyone give me an idea how this is best achieved? I plan on fitting french doors to the rear opening or even doors that open up the full length of the rear (concertina).

I'm concerned about wall spread. What is the best construction method to achieve the look? Any help or pointers much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
By vaulted ceiling, do you mean a roof held up by arched timbers, or do you mean you just want the ceiling to be on the underside of the rafters and not a horizontal one?

Exactly right - the ceiling to be on the underside of the rafters rather than having a horizontal regular flat ceiling - this is a single storey.

If you can recommend a good roofing book to read that would be appreciated. WHat degree of pitch should i be looking for for example?

If it is a lean-to roof then spread isn't an issue as the abutted wall acts as restraint.

If it is a pitched roof then spread is countered using a steel ridge.

Insulating can be achieved using celotex or kingspan either by cold or warm deck construction.

The size of the patio doors may be governed by the glass-per-floor area and corner buttressing.

Pitch of the roof should fall within the range of the roof tile you decide to use, which in turn is selected to match existing. If height constraints limit the pitch of the roof then there are shallow pitch roof tiles available.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the info its about what i expected.

In terms of pitch, I wish to match the existing roof therefore I will be governed by that and the tiles that are up there. Good point about the glass per floor level - I'd not considered that.