Led bulb controlled from another bulb

Joined
16 Nov 2018
Messages
97
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks. I have all the table lamps etc in our living room switched on/off from a single wall switch. There is a dedicated circuit run around the room for this. I now want to add another table lamp but in a position where the dedicated lighting circuit isn't available so the new lamp will plug into a standard mains socket. I'd like this new lamp to turn on with all the other lamps so I'm wondering if there is some kind of remote controlled bulb that can be triggered from another bulb rather than from a phone app or remote control unit. Is anyone aware of such a device?

Many thanks.
BB
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
11 Jan 2004
Messages
38,396
Reaction score
1,792
Country
United Kingdom
There is a way, but unless you know where all the cables run, and they run in a convenient position, you will have to make alterations.

One way to do it would be to replace the wall switch with a Quinetic one, having joined the common and L1 conductors together, thus sending a permanent live feed to the sockets. Then add a Quinetic switch receiver to the circuit. It would be powered by the feed in to the first table light socket from the switch. The cable leaving that socket to feed the rest of the sockets would connect to the socket, with a short link from the socket to connect to the receiver.

Once the circuit is powered up and the switch paired to the receiver, operating the wireless switch will turn on all the table light sockets. They you would need to plug in a Quinetic socket adaptor to the separately-fed socket and pair it to the system. Then when you push the wireless switch, all the sockets would be switched together.

This isn't cheap and you would need to alter the circuit to include the receiver unit.

There are other solutions like controlling the lights via Alexa etc, but I think the hardware needed would be prohibitively expensive.

How much hassle would it be to run a new cable from the nearest switch-fed table light socket to the new position you need?

How many tables lights are there in total, including the one you want to add?

Another way would be to buy a socket adaptor for all the sockets and link them all to the wireless switch.
 
Last edited:
Joined
27 Jan 2008
Messages
19,514
Reaction score
1,857
Location
Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
Country
United Kingdom
Oh I remember my next door neighbour, I fitted a small carriage type outside lamp around 40 watt, it had a light sensor so as it got dark it came on and lit a small area around our back door so we could see to enter house.

Neighbour however fitted an illegal 300 watt quartz lamp at their back door, really over kill. Our light was not motion sensed, so at dusk would light if we had it switched on, theirs was inferred sensed, all was OK until a cat set off neighbours lamp, which was so bright it caused my light to switch off, once the timed was out on neighbours lamp it would switch off, and mine would switch back on again, my light would then trigger neighbours lamp, which would come on again, so mine switched off, until neighbours switched off.

My son could not sleep due to continuing flashing lights, I did complain to neighbour who said it was necessary so any intruders did not injure themselves, so considerate, my visitors used front door, I could have complained to council as over the 150 watt limit, but just turned my light off.

OK that does not help you, but you have to laugh, however I have some so called "Smart" bulbs, some seem to remember how set, others default on, and some default off. So if I turn off my spot lights in my bedroom, once the lights have been switched off, next time used the spots default on again. But the strip of colour changing lights in living room, retain the last command.

The problem is there is nothing in the instructions to say what they will do, it is suck it and see. And bulbs no longer give out inferred in the same way, I have seen when visiting a collage walking down a corridor the lights came on in sequence as I walked, so clearly they were set not to set each other off. Also been in buildings where they had motion sensors to reduce energy bills, when a room full of people are all working on computers surprising how little they move, at least we all waved to each other, or at least at the sensors.

Wonder if it really saved money with all the disruption to work? In Chester in around the 80's a new building was built getting all awards for energy saving, only heating was the lights, which were fluorescent, built by Manweb which was the local electricity board, (Merseyside and north Wales electricity board) to demonstrate how energy could be saved, it was so good, it has now been demolished. Same with the Police building also state of the art, now demolished. OK with Police building built before computers and had a very clever filling system spanning all floors, which computers rendered redundant.
 
Joined
27 Jan 2008
Messages
19,514
Reaction score
1,857
Location
Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
Country
United Kingdom
In theory using IFTTT (If this then that) one should be able to program devices which use IFTTT to do as you require.

However it seems IFTTT is now charged for? And when I tried to use it, could not work out how to write a program, only to use programs written by others and made available for general use. The smart sockets I was using had three timers, and I wanted four, so used IFTTT to get the extra timer.

Having worked with PLC's I thought it would have been easy, but could not find how to write my own program.

The ZigBee hub does allow some interaction, I have a remote control (Lidi) which was to work three GU10 spot lights, to work two lamps in my wife's bedroom, and a relay can be both worked by hard wired switches and the smart life app on the phone so many ways to control same lights. Still waiting for son with ladders to come an install it.

But also had fair share of failures, got up to 5 smart switches at one point, now only two still working, also had a smart socket fail, and so now using plug in devices, as can be easy unplugged when they go wrong.

upload_2021-12-26_13-37-50.png

Five devices no longer used, this does not include items controlled with Smart Life. Another 20 devices on that system up to date only one failed.

Electronic equipment does not like surges, so I do have a surge protection device fitted, and I have been using smart devices now for some five or more years. I have used them instead of installing two way lamps etc. But be warned, they do go wrong.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
1 Dec 2006
Messages
5,321
Reaction score
519
Location
Cumbria
Country
United Kingdom
They go off, when they see enough light, rather than on as required.
According to the spiel they do not work with artificial light so should only come on when he needs to switch the others on. They also vary between switching on with daylight or switching off. The op would just need to select the correct type.
 
Joined
30 Dec 2018
Messages
10,709
Reaction score
1,445
Country
United Kingdom
According to the spiel they do not work with artificial light so should only come on when he needs to switch the others on. They also vary between switching on with daylight or switching off. The op would just need to select the correct type.

There is still the issue, if they switch on, on seeing light, of them coming on due to daylight streaming in through windows. He would be better detecting the flow of current to the other lights and using that as the on trigger. Or switching all via Smart systems as one.
 
Joined
16 Nov 2018
Messages
97
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
Many thanks for the feedback and ideas folks. It appears that there isn't a quick and cheap solution available so I'll have to resort to the low tech method of walking over to the table lamp and manually switching it on. That'll up my daily step count by about 10 ;)
 
Joined
31 Mar 2020
Messages
864
Reaction score
164
Country
United Kingdom
Plug in timer if you really cant be bothered to get up to switch it on :D
 
Sponsored Links
Top