Lifting Tongue and Groove Floorboards

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Is there a way to lift Tongue and groove floorboards (proper wood not the laminate flooring) and be able to put them back down? i have extensive electrical work to be done in my flat and I would prefer not to have to replace a whole flatsworth of the things!

Sponsored Links
use the search facility "lifting tongue and groove"

Mark the boards before lifting them - then they can go back in the same places.

Is there a way to lift Tongue and groove floorboards (proper wood not the laminate flooring) and be able to put them back down? i have extensive electrical work to be done in my flat and I would prefer not to have to replace a whole flatsworth of the things!

If it is nailed down=No chance
If it is screwed down=Half a chance

But who is paying for the floor to be lifted? As an electrician myself, lifting t&g floors is not an easy task without damage occurring to the tongues.

As an electrician myself, lifting t&g floors is not an easy task without damage occurring to the tongues.
I know. As a chippie the number of times I've had to repair floors where electricians or plumbers have made a right pigs ear of it lifting the boards :rolleyes: :p ;)

TBH if the boards are old (e.g. pre-WWII) they are going to be a nightmare to lift and many can just break because they have gone brittle with age. The standard method to get them out involves cutting the tongues at one side of the first board to be removed and if you subsequently need to replace boards (as you often have to) it may be necessary to pack-up the new boards as they are generally thinner than older materials. I broke so many in our Victorian house attic room a number of years back when we rewired that in the end I lifted the lot and replaced them with new T&G boards

Sponsored Links