light fuse tripping

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Our problem 1st started the other day, the light bulb in the fridge freezer blew, coincidence ? it lasted about 9 years. (not replaced yet)
Things were fine till a couple of days after, the landing light was turned on and the lights fuse tripped, i'm no electrician but I checked all the wires were connected correctly in the switches, then the fuse stayed on and the lights worked.
I was pretty happy with myself, untill later in the evening, a bedroom light was turned on and the lights fuse tripped again.
So it was 2 separate lights upstairs that seemed to cause the problem.
Please help, it's dark in here :eek:

Sponsored Links
planemad";p="1848954 said:
Are the bulbs blowing, or does the circuit just trip with a working light bulb?[/quote

The circuit just trips, the only bulb to blow was the fridge , a few days before.

What did you actually do when you checked the switches?

Any bare wiring touching earth or metal back box?

Any transformers fitted to either of these lights?

Do you have circuit breakers? Any RCDs?

Any fittings been replaced?

Anyone been in the loft (if you have one) recently?

Sponsored Links
What did you actually do when you checked the switches?

Any bare wiring touching earth or metal back box?

Any transformers fitted to either of these lights?

Do you have circuit breakers? Any RCDs?

Any fittings been replaced?

Anyone been in the loft (if you have one) recently?

I'll go back round and check if any bare wires are touching anything, not sure about transformers or RCD'S, 2 light fittings and dimmer switches were changed 2 years ago, come to think of it, 1 bulb in a rack of 4 blew in the lounge a while ago and now the dimmer doesn't work, but the light stays on full.

The chrimbo decs were put back in the loft !

You may have some loose fitting sheets of board up there to stand on. Many people do. Check under here as well.