Light switch and a dimmer as well - possible?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, am a newbie here, found the site by accident - it's really helpful. I would like to put in a light switch (main light on/off) and on the same switch have dimmer control for other lights in room - any idea if I can buy such a switch from anywhere? Have looked in B & Q and Ebay, usual good sources, but not this time!
If anyone could tell me a retailer for such a project I would be grateful.
Thanks for reading this and for any help in advance

Sponsored Links
Try an electrical wholesaler, my local City Electrical has what your looking for on the shelf. Make sure that the back box of the switch is deep enough to accommodate the dimmer control and also that the dimmer is correctly rated for the attached load.

havent seen one with a switch and dimmer combined,never really looked though tbh,usually do it in grid switch format.

basically you buy a yoke to take the switch and dimmer(these are separate modules) and just click into the yoke to give you the desired effect.you then buy a cover plate to go over it.this maybe why you havent found anything.

just go into a wholesaler and tell them what you want to do and they will sort the rest out.

make sure you follow the advice given in the post above mine , also earth the yoke

Indeed - I've got a two gang box with 2 grid dimmers and an on-off switch in a 3 way plate.

Sponsored Links
Indeed - I've got a two gang box with 2 grid dimmers and an on-off switch in a 3 way plate.

Ok, thanks for telling me that, but where did you buy it from..? Thanks for all replies, all very useful and will be sending husband to the local City Electrical shop tomorrow!!
Thank you everyone for being so helpful to a newbie (and a woman at that!!)

You can get them online if you like.

Save Mr. essdee a trip out ;)

& & &

If you want to go for modules
You can also get push on/off switches
They look the same as dimmers but DO NOT DIM and just switch.