Lightning strike

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Last Tuesday we had an almighty thunderstorm (overhead lightning strikes), which tripped the power in the house. As it was just our house and not a general outage, I reset the trip on the consumer unit. It kept tripping every minute or so, decreasing in time until it wouldn't reset. I switched off all the breakers and turned them back on one by one (unplugged everything in the house beforehand). This narrowed it down to the upstairs sockets which tripped every time it was switched on. There was nothing plugged in at the time and the emersion is on a different ringmain. (excuse me if I have the wrong terms but I'm no electrician). Before I call an electrician out and waste money, Could it just be the circuit breaker that needs replacing? I haven't taken it out and checked as yet because it's dark when get home and don't want to be without any power. It remains in the off position so I have power to the rest of the house. Could a power surge have burnt out a right main and if so, a rough guesstimate of costs before I call insurance company? :confused:

Sponsored Links
From your description I gather it is an RCD that has tripped, not an MCB.

It is quite possible from your description that the upstairs socket circuit, or something plugged into it, was damaged by the lightening. It is also possible that the RCD has been damaged and is tripping from a slight earth leak that would not normally be a problem. Lightening can do strange things ;)

Unplug all appliances to see if you can identify a faulty one. there may also be applances (like wall heaters or outside lamps) that are connected with a fixed fused switch, not a plug - turn them off too.

If it isn't an appliance, then I think you would do well to call your insurance company, explain as you have done, and ask if they have an approved local electrician on their panel who can find and fix the fault.