Loft conversion noise issue

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys
Need some advice pls
We recently had a loft conversion done (bedroom & en suite) and are experiencing a lot of traffic noise from the main road 50 yards away..
I am a heating engineer by trade and used to be a sound engineer (go figure) so am aware of the way sound travels and how builders work etc...

The traffic noise emanates from the front of the building (pitched roof) which consists of tiles, felt, celotex and a plastered finish...
It sounds like the Velux are letting a lot of sound in and they have said try shutters (not blinds-we already have them), or new sound resistant glass..
My question is tho... If we fit shutters (£650 ish) will that cure the issue??
If the sound is coming thru the plasterboard wall then would it not be better to put sound proof board over the existing?

Any help would be greatly appreciated please

Thanks

Jelboy

Sponsored Links
Depends on the volume and frequency but from what you say it is airborne so you need to add mass. Try blue "SoundBloc" plasterboard from British Gypsum (or equal) over existing. Its a bloody heavy board!

If you have a void behind the vertical studwork walls consider getting some/more quilt to prevent reverberation.

Hope that helps

Well as an ex sound engineer I guess you would know that its a bit hit and miss, you could add this or that but whether it makes much difference and whether it was money well spent is completely individual and nobody (repeat nobody) on here can say for sure.

Why not go to one of your old mates still in sound engineering and borrow a meter with a directional microphone. You may be able to positively identify the part of your structure that is the cause of the problem.

As for the shutters, well they have no dB reduction rating I am aware of, so don't expect a lot from them. Any mass put in the way of sound will help. You could measure before and after levels and let us know if it is worthwhile ;)