Loft steel undersized?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, hoping someone can advise. The loft beams my SE has advised off are

203x203x46kg x 5.9 meters.

I made a small cross sectional template as as a guide to start marking out where bricks will be removed. Having made the template the beams "look" too small.

Im not a structural engineer but those beams look too shallow. Can someone advise if those will be an adequate size for a loft conversion? The new floor area will be 5.8 meters x 5 meters, partitioned into 2 small rooms and a small shower room.

Sponsored Links
On what basis do you think they look too shallow ? what are you comparing them too ?

On what basis do you think they look too shallow ? what are you comparing them too ?

Im not sure really, just the height of them, 20cm, does not seem that big and as ive never worked with steel before just thought it looked small

My similar length ridge beam is smaller and lighter, it’s a 203x133x (I think) 28kg.

I’m clueless about the loads on it though.

Sponsored Links
Im not sure really, just the height of them, 20cm, does not seem that big and as ive never worked with steel before just thought it looked small

Its a universal column section -often specified by engineers when trying to keep beam height down a bit.

It is a pretty substantial beam -weighing 270kgs

Ive no idea about loading, maybe Tony might be along to comment......

@gasbusters are you end plate and bolting that in or trying to put 6m beams in, in one piece?

That’s going to be heavy.

54803B61-3622-4DC0-BEC4-7E4A2801FFB6.jpeg We put a 152x152x37, 254x146x31 and a 152x89x16 to create our floor.

Then a 178x102x19 for part of the original roof.

Last edited:
@gasbusters are you end plate and bolting that in or trying to put 6m beams in, in one piece?

That’s going to be heavy.

View attachment 162609 We put a 152x152x37, 254x146x31 and a 152x89x16 to create our floor.

Then a 178x102x19 for part of the original roof.