1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Mesh Wifi system.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by burnie35, 6 Jan 2020.

  1. burnie35

    burnie35

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys, need some advice on these mesh systems.
    Recently moved into a solid wall large bungalow approx 30 mtr long. BT smarthub is installed in the hall (L shape) in middle of house. One of the rooms struggles to get a signal, there is no interferance from other wifi routers.
    Hooked up an Asus router To the bt smarthub to see if that would improve the signal but nope.
    Also have used wifi boosters to see if that helps too but again it seems to be tempremental (sometimes it helps, sometimes it doesn't).
    Normally it wouldn't bother me as it's my daughters room and she spends most of her time on social media but her homework/studies are coming in thick and fast and she has started to moan at the wife who is now moaning at me to get it sorted.
    Wired is out the question because the wife doesn't want any wires showing, so it has to be wifi. My budget is £100 (even less would be better) and something with a good returns policy if they are not upto the job.
    cheers
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    4,640
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A powerline adaptor kit will work fine. Plug one in to your router and into a plug socket and the other in your daughters room socket. Works through your house wiring. You will have wired and wireless connection in the room.
    https://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/compu...in-pack-10142649-pdt.html?intcmpid=display~RR

    You can also buy a triple kit and plug that into another room if you are having poor signal there. That’s what I use for myhttps://business.currys.co.uk/buy-rent/N157999W?cidp=Froogle&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI2qzp0L

    By online and they can always be sent back if not suitable. (y)

    You could try these from Argos. They take anything back without quibbling.
    https://www.argos.co.uk/product/5585575
     
    Last edited: 6 Jan 2020
  4. EddieM

    EddieM

    Joined:
    15 Feb 2009
    Messages:
    7,670
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Risking the ire of other posters there.
     
  5. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    4,640
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know, I know but my one works absolutely perfect. Main unit in my hall next to the router on downstairs ring, one in the loft on the upstairs ring hard wired to my DVR and one in the shed on another circuit for WiFi at the bottom of the garden in summer. A cheap and easy solution, literally plug 'n' play and taking the OP's requirements into consideration, I think that’s all that’s needed.
     
  6. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    22,258
    Thanks Received:
    2,080
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe.... but does all the wireless equipment in and around your house still work perfectly ?
     
  7. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    4,640
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes Bernard, everything works fine.
     
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. Lower

    Lower

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    1,163
    Thanks Received:
    116
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In my experience, power line adaptors are unreliable and regularly have to be restarted.

    I have the bt mesh system with 3 discs and it just works all the time.
     
  10. empip

    empip

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    6,145
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Using Devolo AV - bought several sets since 2012 - No problems.
    They work very well, currently :-
    '...Devolo dLAN 1200+ Wi-Fi AC Powerline Starter Kit (1200 Mbps, 2 PLC Adapter, 2 LAN Ports, Dual Band 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz, Wi-Fi Signal Booster, Range Extender, Wi-Fi Move, Access Point) - White...' The 'pass through' three pin mains socket is a must - I think. They integrate very well with older 500 AV's.

    https://www.broadbandbuyer.com/advice/2580-are-new-devolo-homeplugs-compatible-with-old-ones/

    -P-

     
  11. chalkywhite

    chalkywhite

    Joined:
    24 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, i use a Asus RT-AC86U, and it can reach the back of my 60s house with solid walls. I am currently sitting 20m or so from the router and am getting 4 bar wifi from it, through two solid walls, one being the former outer wall of the original house.
    Powerlines are good when they work, i have TP-link brand, and the original set of four (one in back room, garage and one in shed) work well, although when i added another for an upstairs bedroom, i had all sorts of trouble, and should have returned it.
    Hope this helps
     
  12. Bill Door

    Bill Door

    Joined:
    8 Feb 2020
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Foil-backed plasterboard in the way anywhere? If so you could try re-siting one of the boxes.

    One of these ceiling mounted with a single POE ethernet cable under the floorboards?
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00VQ8P47O/ref=psdc_430580031_t3_B01LRQW0GM

    We have the EAPs all over the house. Works like Mesh, but uses a single ethernet cable in a radial pattern. So much better than mesh. But you can use it as a modular extention.

    Be careful with security on powerline adaptors. There is nothing in a UK property that would prevent your signal from travelling the copper beyond your walls.
     
  13. SpecialK

    SpecialK

    Joined:
    27 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have one EAP225 upstairs and it covers the whole house!

    If OP can get a cable from the router to the loft (slimline trunking?) they can be easily installed...

     
  14. burnie35

    burnie35

    Joined:
    6 Jun 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Got it sorted, bought the BT wholehome WIFI 3 pack (reconditioned) from BT, now getting almost full speed in her room and still have a spare that I will use to get WIFI in the back garden when the better weather gets here.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page