Metal Wall Sockets/Switches

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi.. sorry.. but this is a very dumb question.. but I am quite new to this..

When installing a metal plate - I get the fact you have to earth it... but am not 100% sure how to do this.

The existing (plastic) switch & metal box - has an earth - the box is earthed...

So when I earth the metal switch... do I...

a) run an earth from the switch to the the metal box's earth (screw type thing?)
b) Do I split the earth using a connector thingy - and run one to the box and one to the switch?
c) or something else?

Also.. is there such a thing as a 1-way switch? when you jusy want the
switch to turn on one light? - as all i see are 2/3/4 gang 2 way switches???

All help muchos appreciated!

Best

Sponsored Links
your desciption is a bit vague but i think what your doing is changing a plastic light switch for a metal one.

if this is so...... then connect the earth from the twin and earth cable(s) (making sure it is sleeved with green/yellow sleeving) to the earth connection on the switch which should be marked.

also run a sleeved earth from this point to the back box earth terminal if it has one.

and yes you can get a switch that is simply on/off for one light.

hope this answers your question, any further problems then describe in a bit more detail or post a piccy

:LOL:

SunnyC said:
Also.. is there such a thing as a 1-way switch? when you jusy want the
switch to turn on one light? - as all i see are 2/3/4 gang 2 way switches???
you can use a 2 way switch as a 1 way (use com and L1).

generally you can get 1 gang 1 way switches but not higher number of gang 1 way switches. Its just not worth making them for the small number of switches where every gang is used as a 1 way.

Sponsored Links

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.