Meter Tails

S

steviez

Can anyone tell me why you put 25mm tails from meter to CU when most of the time there is only 16mm tails from service head to meter?

Sponsored Links
If as you say in one of your previous posts you're in college then you should be able to work it out for yourself.

Think about what the purpose of the main fuse/mcb is?
Think about current carrying capacity?
What is the required relationship between the two?

If as you say in one of your previous posts you're in college then you should be able to work it out for yourself.

I am in my first year and have not been there long! we have not even covered anything like this yet! was only asking to learn.

I can't see how that will help to answer the OP's question. Whatever answer he gets to that question will be the same for the cables from cutout to meter as for those from meter to CU.

The answer to the OP's actual question (as to why cables are so often of different CSA on the two sides of the meter) is clearly 'bureaucratic' (e.g. differing sets of regs on either side of the meter) and absolutely nothing to do with engineering! The laws of physics are clearly not different on the two sides of the meter!

Kind Regards, John.

Sponsored Links
I can't see how that will help to answer the OP's question. Whatever answer he gets to that question will be the same for the cables from cutout to meter as for those from meter to CU.

The answer to the OP's actual question (as to why cables are so often of different CSA on the two sides of the meter) is clearly 'bureaucratic' (e.g. differing sets of regs on either side of the meter) and absolutely nothing to do with engineering!

Kind Regards, John.

Thank you for your answer

Most likely it is because an electrician has fitted a new CU and 'uprated' the tails but is not allowed to alter the DNO part of the installation.

Whether the uprating is necessary is another matter.