1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Monitor screen peculiarity

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by vinn, 6 Mar 2017.

  1. vinn

    vinn

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2016
    Messages:
    2,287
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Country:
    Ireland
    Hardware or software - I dont know?
    Anyway, what happens with the picture on my monitor screen is that it might not achieve perfect resolution for a day or two.
    For example: I click on a OP's posted pics, and they seem fine although the detail is not the clearest, but satisfactory.
    Then I return to the image say, a day or so later, and suddenly more specific detail is being illustrated.
    Its as though my system is taking its time to develope its full "resolution"?

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. danechip

    danechip

    Joined:
    15 Sep 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I think you have 2 drivers for your graphics in conflict. Remove both and install the newes from from the makers website.

    Dan.
     
  3. stevethespreader

    stevethespreader

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    2,599
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it just when you view pics on diy? Is it just when your viewing pics online? or do it happen offline
     
  4. vinn

    vinn

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2016
    Messages:
    2,287
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Country:
    Ireland
    danechip,
    Thanks for replying. I will attempt to sort the driver business with a little help, and come back with how successful its been.

    stevethespreader,
    Thank you for replying. Thats a good question. I dont view many still pics outside of diynot.com mostly I only watch vids on youtube and detail is irrelevant.
    I'll check from this evening and let you know what happens.
     
  5. vinn

    vinn

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2016
    Messages:
    2,287
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thank you both again. For the time being it appears to have resolved itself - all I did was wait, I was too scared to attempt to mess with the drivers, and other sites & browsers were fine with the issue.

    So its back to seeing how long this will hold up - digital fingers crossed.
     
  6. stevethespreader

    stevethespreader

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    2,599
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a feeling it was an experience to do with the Internet rather than drivers
     
  7. vinn

    vinn

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2016
    Messages:
    2,287
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanks again, although I'm no further ahead in finding the cause, at least I'm not going backwards.
     
  8. Neil Henry

    Neil Henry

    Joined:
    8 Mar 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham. United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe due to poor internet speed or maybe a cache that is full or a paging file that is incorrectly set.
     
  9. vinn

    vinn

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2016
    Messages:
    2,287
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Country:
    Ireland
    Neil Henry,
    Thanks for your advice.
    MY internet speed is average for my area, & I constantly empty he cache. Whatever a "paging file" is my PC doesn't seem to know, and I know far less than my PC but I will ask someone local who claims to have digital knowledge. Thanks again.
     
  10. stevethespreader

    stevethespreader

    Joined:
    19 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    2,599
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I said Internet experience that's what I meant , just because they say it's a certain speed do not mean that you are getting that speed ,especially when everyone's online all at once, if your band width is strangled you may not get the full experience it happens on my phone sometimes,fwiw I am supposed to have 50 mbps on Virgin but there is a fault in the area "so they say" but I think they have not upgraded their system to cope with all the people on line they are currently giving me a partial refund till its sorted it could also be your browser or diy not itself
     
  11. vinn

    vinn

    Joined:
    7 Mar 2016
    Messages:
    2,287
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Country:
    Ireland
    Thanks. Interesting possibility.
    As for diynot itself, they told me that some other difficulty I have on here is due to my not allowing cookies - I dont allow hardly anything but the minimum necessary to access a site. If it comes down to loss of resolution or getting a bug then I'll put up with the resolution business.
    I guess that I'll wait and see a bit more.
     
  12. limakilo

    limakilo

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2016
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like your browser is not loading the image properly. For example it my be showing a low quality cached (stored on your computer) image, and not loading the full size image for any number of reasons. If it does occur again, go into your browser settings and clear your cache. It will save space on your hard drive, and hopefully remove any faults relating to that. The cache is stored files from browsing, used to speed up loading times when you revisit Web pages. It is not uncommon for cached files to conflict with new pages you view. If you do clear your cache, you may find you might have to wait a second or two longer for the page to load. This is a software problem too.
     
  13. What is your browser Vinn, and do you have the same issue if you swap to another browser What operating system are you using, and o you have any AV software installed.

    Internet speed won't be an issue, and youtube videos are low resolution, so you wouldn't notice a lack of resolution there. Clearing the cache won't achieve much in this sitation, and whilst it might be a driver issue, if you're running windows 10, then it might be down to a recent update automatic update, so if changing the browser doesn't resolve it, you may need to start reversing the recent updates.
     
  14. limakilo

    limakilo

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2016
    Messages:
    96
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So a 1080p or 4k YouTube video is low resolution? How wouldn't clearing the cache help?
     
  15. Ah, I haven't been using them at that res, so thanks for that; I knew Netflix was running 4K, but didn't know that YouTube was doing it as well.. But Vinn needs to check the resolution of the videos he's watching, as that'll throw another factor in. If the browser can display a 1080p video, but not the pictures from diynot, then that suggests it's the site that's at issue. And as there have been problems with the links etc on the site, it could be coming from the server, and not his computer. He needs to run a few comparative tests, and see if there's a constant theme, or where the differences are.

    The caveat here, is that a video is a constant moving picture, so may well have problems, but his eyes aren't noticing the difference.

    A cache is designed to hold things for frequent use, so that it's there if you need it again; as you've said in your earlier post, you only need to clear the cache if you've got disk space problems - If the image is being picked up from the cache, then it'll always go there first, so it should be constant. And if there was a disk corruption in the cache area, then that would cause disk read errors, not improvements over time.
     
Loading...

Share This Page