Mould in bathrooms and external walls

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Hope everyone is enjoying the heat!

I have some black mould in the bathroom ceiling and in the external walls in the bedrooms I did notice that the windows don't have any trickle vents so I will install them.

In the meantime, before I repaint can anyone recommend how to get rid of the mould? I have attached some pics

Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_3224.jpg
    IMG_3224.jpg
    253.9 KB · Views: 50
  • IMG_3228.jpg
    IMG_3228.jpg
    170.5 KB · Views: 53
  • IMG_3229.jpg
    IMG_3229.jpg
    271.8 KB · Views: 57
Sponsored Links
Hi there - I'm a mould remediation professional happy to give some tips to consider...

The first thing to do is to focus on the cause of the mould, which you have started to do. Otherwise, removal may only be temporary and the mould can return if the conditions stay the same. Without knowing much about the property...

Given it is in a bathroom, it's pretty clear that the moisture will be coming from bathing and showering. This water vapour will likely be settling on surfaces as moisture (which mould needs to grow). Mould also needs - an organic surface (such as plaster) to grow on, the right temperature, lack of disturbance, lack of air movement, it prefers not to have direct sunlight too. Of all those things, poor ventilation is most commonly the main cause but the more of the other things you can help with the better the chance you have of getting on top of it.

You have identified the ventilation issue and trickle vents will very likely help. Think about seeing if the extractor fan (if there is one) is working well and big enough for the room as that is a big help. Also, is it set to run a few minutes after use if you can.