1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Moving telephone socket, junction box or extension?

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by VickyBH, 17 Dec 2020.

  1. VickyBH

    VickyBH

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2018
    Messages:
    99
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I've got a LJ3/1A socket in a very awkward place where it's by the front entrance and no electrical socket nearby. I am going to move it to new location but can't decide which option is better. I'd really appreciate some input please.

    option 1. Replace LJ3/1A with a junction box (BT77A), run Cat 5e cable to new location and terminate with the latest NTE5c socket.

    option 2. Replace LJ3/1A with NTE5C socket, run Cat5e extension cable to new location and fit a euro module plate with RJ45 and telephone module.
     
  2. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    8,633
    Thanks Received:
    1,313
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Option 1 .....but use BT cable not cat5
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,134
    Thanks Received:
    2,484
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sparkymarka just beat me to it, Use BT CW1308 cable
     
  5. yorkspark

    yorkspark

    Joined:
    6 Mar 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you still pushing the notion that cat5e is not suitable? It's been used for donkeys for phone/broadband lines in offices, and not once has it caused problems, and before you say it, there is no crosstalk, call degradation or loss of speed ever.
    Cat5e also used to be used as a data line and separate phone extension in 1 cable, using 2 pairs for the network and brown pair for phone extension, and not once has it caused problems as will still transmit at 100meg on 2 pairs.
    Why do you think they make voice rails for network cabs? 50 pair cw1308 to patch rail, 50 x cat5e out to desks.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,134
    Thanks Received:
    2,484
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The ADSL signal waveform and data rate is optimised to achieve the best propagation along the low twist telephone cable pairs such as found in CW1308 cables which is the majority of the length of the cable carrying ADSL To some extent this optimisation is modified on a line by line basis at the telephone exchange to suit the characteristics of the line involved.

    ADSL signals will propagate along high twist cable such as CAT5 but to get the best propagation this requires a different optimisation to that required for best propagation along CW1308.

    A line that leaves the exchange on CW1308 but then changes to CAT5 for the last few metres will need an optimisation that is a compromise between optimisation for CW1308 and the optimisation for CAT5.

    One case was a house 2.4 cable miles from the exchange with about 6 metres of CAT5 internal from NTE to the router /modem. Very low data rate, changing the CAT5 cable to CW1308 cable gave a significant increase in data rate.
     
    Last edited: 18 Dec 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page