1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Mum can't connect to the internet

Discussion in 'Software' started by ChrisR, 20 Jun 2011.

  1. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    24,298
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I get a phone call.. :rolleyes:

    She's using a Vista pc, and BTInternet.
    The computer's diagnostics say there's nothing wrong, BT think there's nothing wrong, as "it's ok from their end". They suggested some sort of wiring problem, but surely one of the diagnostics would have found that?

    Any suggestions?

    I haven't seen Vista but we managed to find "diagnose connection problems" which found nothing.

    Could this be a virus?
    Apart from Windows Defender (which found nothing with a Quick Scan) I don't think she has any AV installed.

    Every web page she tries comes back Page Not Found.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Monsterminty

    Monsterminty

    Joined:
    26 May 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just because BT "think" nothing's wrong doesn't mean they're right.
    I had some problems with a local business' internet and BT said there was nothing wrong but there was actually a problem at the exchange, thet lied and said it was fixed......still no internet..... an engineer from the business' isp went to the exchange and BT admitted that they were still waiting for parts, 3am that night/morning and the local area's internet went down for 36 mins and the next day EVERYONE was online :rolleyes:

    Are you wireless or connected with a cable?
    What are the router lights showing?
     
  4. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    24,298
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I got an email from her - easiest to paste it here. I'm trying to ask her what she did, and report back if it's interesting, but she's 82...
    Also told her to install MSE!

    "I got back to BT today; more or less same checks, much of which you had done, and said it was a fault in my software. He said they did have a Home IT support line but there was a charge. Got on to them and charge was £30 (payable by credit card) or £90 for calling out engineer. Spoke to a lovely Geordie speaking f rom Newcastle and he was wonderful. I was on phone all told for nearly two and half hours which I think is good value for £30! He was wonderful and so patient and has re-installed it all and so far so good. There is 7 day guarantee but he thinks he has fixed it. He said I shou ld have anti-virus too so will have to do something about that."
     
  5. Monsterminty

    Monsterminty

    Joined:
    26 May 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. VaporTrail

    VaporTrail

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Be sure you have re-started pc before trying the following. Some new HP desktops go to sleep and appear to have switched off. PC may just need a new IP address from BT hub to get internet back. BT internat and help desk is now (last 3 months) quite reliable.

    Some virus do work this way, their intent being to prevent you downloading anti-viral software. Load AVAST free home ed onto a USB stick and run it on her pc. If you're feeling cocky, run AVG rescue CD instead. Remove all virus & you my need to reinstall if virus has infected OS files.

    You MUST use anti-virus software. AVAST home edition is free & checks spyware and is all you need.

    VISTA is crap. Windows7 or XP are faster and more reliable.
     
  8. empip

    empip

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    6,314
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  9. ChrisR

    ChrisR

    Joined:
    24 Jul 2003
    Messages:
    24,298
    Thanks Received:
    1,406
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's crashed and burned again, this time BT £30 service couldn't get it working, and they say it's a different problem so charged again.

    Mum's 80 miles from me so she's going to get a local pc fixer at it.
    All she has on it that she cares about is a couple of hundred pictures.
    SHe hadn't backed them up because she doesn't know how to copy them on to a CD.

    I suppose when I'm 82... :cry:
     
  10. madder

    madder

    Joined:
    27 Dec 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It might sound silly but resetting the router really can work wonders. I know I'm in Ireland and it may be different but when I reset my router, it manages to keep my network encrypted so I don't have to go through all that again.
     
Loading...

Share This Page