My new bathroom!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, as you can tell from what you are about to read I am a complete novice to any DIY! I have bought a house which is only 18mnths old. Stud walls etc. We want to install a mixer shower in the bathroom over the bath. We don't want mixer taps or an exposed shower so hoping all the pipes etc will be 'in the wall'. Going to tile the hole room after its all fitted. What I really need to know is will the plasterboard on the wall where the shower will be sited need to be completely removed or can i simply cut a trench for everything to sit in and then tile over it?

Also any tips on removing tiles from plasterboard and installing a heated towel rail? :oops:

Sponsored Links
P.S. Also in what order would I go about this? (Haven't a clue where to start)
Maybe you should reconsider doing this yourself if you have no idea how to go about it.
And make sure you have adequate insurance for leaks, including making good of the damage caused by the leak.

What I really need to know is will the plasterboard on the wall where the shower will be sited need to be completely removed or can i simply cut a trench for everything to sit in and then tile over it?

If you want the pipework concealed your only option is to chase out the wall and sit the pipes in, cover them with a protective casing then fill in and tile. if there is a possibility that you can drop your feeds from above into a room that may back on to your bathroom wall then pop through into bathroom this may be another option. You can then box in pipework in other room.

Also any tips on removing tiles from plasterboard

Lump hammer and cold chisel.

and installing a heated towel rail?

How long have you got. Have you tried a search on this Forum?

Sponsored Links