Neighbour says our new guttering has caused problems?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

We moved into our 3-bed end of terrace house six months ago and had all guttering, fascias and soffits replaced immediately as they were extremely old and a hole in the down pipe was causing damp in the house. This is our first property and we are complete newbies to everything house-related, so asked a close family friend who has done lots of work for us over the years to do the job. He replaced our deep guttering with standard size as he said deep guttering was unnecessary.

However, soon after the job was completed, our adjoining neighbour said our new guttering was causing his to overflow at the back of the house as our guttering is now shallower and higher than his, meaning the water doesn’t flow as well. The roofer has told us that the neighbour raised this with him when he came back to complete the job, but the roofer told the neighbour this issue is nothing to do with our new guttering as an adaptor had been fitted to join the two pipes together (picture 1). The roofer seems to think the neighbour was just trying to get the job done cheaply as he said he would pay for the necessary materials if our roofer could fix the issue.

From what I can see, the neighbour’s guttering shouldn’t be overflowing as it is deeper than ours so should be able to hold more water, and by the time it has risen to the height of our guttering through the adapter, it should flow just fine. He doesn’t seem to have his own downpipe but instead is connected to ours - I’m not sure if this is anything to do with the issue? (Picture 2)

I had a conversation with the neighbour about it which got quite heated and the neighbour refused to provide any video evidence of the overflowing gutter for me to send to the roofer. Am I missing something? Do we need to ask our roofer to replace the guttering so it’s the same size as our neighbour’s or is he just trying it on?