1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Nest Thermostat E wiring to Greenstar 32CDi ERP Compact

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Reliag, 29 Oct 2020.

  1. Reliag

    Reliag

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    I have a Worcetser Bosch Greenstar boiler with wireless Comfort 1 RF thermostat control.

    Please can someone help me replace this with the Nest Thermostat E?

    I have attached photos of my current boiler wiring below.
    IMG_20201029_101648893.jpg IMG_20201029_101113306.jpg
    Many thanks

    Dan
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,231
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The white link between terminals CH and L is removed. And assuming that you have the UK version of the Nest-e that looks like this:

    145870-smart-home-review-hands-on-nest-thermostat-e-initial-review-image16-irgcqenlqw.jpg

    The L terminal should be wired to Nest-e 'C'

    The CH terminal should be wired to Nest-e 'NO'

    The boiler's built in time / temperature control for the Central heating should be set to be permanently 'on' 25/7 otherwise it will interfere with the operation of the Nest-e
     
    Last edited: 29 Oct 2020
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Reliag

    Reliag

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Stem you are a legend!
    I will give it a go now.
    Many thanks
    Dan
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,231
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    FYI I amended my first post to include:
    Just incase you missed it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Reliag

    Reliag

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Stem
     
  7. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,479
    Thanks Received:
    6,705
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @stem never fitted an external control to that make of Worcester but certainly on the older ones that wouldnt work, the receiver in the boiler set at constantly on will constantly look for the thermostat transmitter, on the older ones you have to remove the ribbon and the HW pre heat is also disabled , as said not totally sure if that one is the same but would suspect it is
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  8. Reliag

    Reliag

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Ian
    The 'test' doesnt turn on the heating - do you think something else needs to be disconnected?
    Many thanks
    Dan
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. Reliag

    Reliag

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The wireless Comfort RF is still controlling the heating....
    Regards
    Dan
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. stem

    stem

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2005
    Messages:
    6,231
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks @ianmcd. That's interesting, but makes we wonder why the white link between the external control terminals would be fitted if the boiler internal controls override anything connected to them. What would be the solution? removing the comfort RF?
     
  12. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,479
    Thanks Received:
    6,705
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On the older ones you just unplug the ribbon, the receiver is plugged directly into the pcb if you unplug it , you can install external controls
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,479
    Thanks Received:
    6,705
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dan remove the ribbon between the unit and your boiler , then the new control should take over, but you wont have HW pre heat any more
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Reliag

    Reliag

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Ian, Stem
    I'll give it a go and let you know.
    Really appreciate your efforts with this.
    Dan
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Reliag

    Reliag

    Joined:
    29 Oct 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That did the trick!
    Appears to be working fine now.
    Thank you so much.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page