New concrete floor?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've searched the forum for a similar problem but no joy, so sorry if this is a repeat question - I am a newbie though!

I'm taking up tiles from my kitchen floor but some are bringing up chunks of the concrete floor below with them, whilst other tiles seem to be adhered so fast that I can't get my hammer-drill chisel underneath them at all in order to get them off. Consequently, I'm having to chisel away at the concrete just below the bits of tile left behind so that all the ceramic tile comes off.

My question is, should I just patch in any deep holes and then use a latex screed to get a level base to re-tile on, or would I be better off 'digging out' to a certain depth over the entire floor area (about 1.75m x 3.5m) and then lay a new layer of concrete. If so, what depth should I dig out and what depth of new concrete should I lay?

Any advice (or a link to another post dealing with this issue) would be greatly appreciated

I'm no DIY expert, but do have in-laws who are pretty good and who have laid concrete before, so could help me. :confused:

Sponsored Links
Providing there's no movement of the old floor screed then make good with sand/cement plus levelling compound, if you do deep dig you may damaged the dpm which is under the concrete level, then it will be a bigger job.

masona said:
Providing there's no movement of the old floor screed then make good with sand/cement plus levelling compound, if you do deep dig you may damaged the dpm which is under the concrete level, then it will be a bigger job.