New Garage install

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
56A552CC-3014-41C9-B7B9-8E35D3C6D3D8.jpeg
Good morning!
First of all I just want to say I’m not an electrician but I am an electrical (aeronautical) engineer so I’m confident with electrical work but I know I’m not qualified.

I’m moving to a new build house shortly with a garage, the developer will be fitting a 32A supply and a 3 way consumer unit. From that there will be a single double socket (from 16A mcb) and a light (from a 6A mcb).

I wish to upgrade the garage to the following ( please see attached image).

My plan is to fit the socket and lights where I would like them and then get a local electrician to wire it all and certify it all.

Just to clarify my vacuum cleaner, air compressor and a water pump are all tucked away so would like to use a grid switch system to operate them. Oh and apologies for my mistake in the picture, I should have put 6A on the lighting mcb.

Last edited:
Sponsored Links
First question is cable size to garage, 4 mm would likely be OK for 32A but under size for 40A, and even with 6 mm you have a max length of around 25 meters to keep within volt drop range with 40A but 30 meters with a 32A supply, so one does need to work it out. And that is not allowing for volt drop inside the garage.

However the layout seems OK, but you need to select an electrician before you start, he has to sign for design, installation, and inspection and testing, he can't sign for design if he has not done it, I had same problem, I had the skill and tools to DIY but the council charges are rather high, and I wanted the paperwork as likely to rent or sell. Also all my meters were out of date for calibration, so simply not worth DIY.