1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

install electricity in garage

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by benny1975, 9 Nov 2010.

  1. benny1975

    benny1975

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi

    I am planning on putting electricity into my garage which is attached to the house. Would be grateful if you could check to make sure I havent missed anything.

    My plans are:

    Take electricity from the house CU on the RCD side via a 32 amp MCB and 6mm T&E cable through the wall (in conduit) to a 5 way Wylex CU with 100A 30ma RCD in the garage.

    Then a radial circuit from the garage CU 16A MCB to 3 double sockets, 10 metre run in 2.5mm T&E.

    Also a lighting circuit from the garage CU 6A MCB to 2 inside lights and 1 outside light (total about 400watt) again about a 10metre run in 2.5mm cable.

    All cable will be run in conduit and the spare ways on the garage CU will be blanked off. Nothing particularly heavy will ever be plugged in although in future might want to put a tumble dryer in the garage.

    Does this sound OK?

    Many thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. ricicle

    ricicle

    Joined:
    14 Sep 2006
    Messages:
    6,343
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You shouldn't really have 2 30mA RCDs in the same circuit as it is not guaranteed which one will operate first (or both)
    How do you propose to test the wiring and devices when you have completed the install ?
     
  4. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,243
    Thanks Received:
    1,515
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need a CU in the garage at all.
    2.5 mm cable for lighting is far too large, and will create problems in fitting that size wire into the terminals on the lights

    A far cheaper, quicker and better solution would be a 20A MCB in the house CU, with a 2.5mm radial circuit to the socket outlets. Add a 3A FCU for the lighting, which should be done in 1mm cable.
     
  5. benny1975

    benny1975

    Joined:
    18 Oct 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Folks

    Flameport - I was going to use a CU in the garage as this is what others in my street have done, but your method sounds simpler.

    Ricicle - I was going to use 2.5mm as I will be buying 25m anyway and thought it would be Ok for the lights. Is the 2 RCds a big issue?, although Flameport's method would avoid this issue.

    In terms of testing, to be honest I hadn't considered that side of thigs, but will do, I suspect sparks arent overly keen to check other peoples work?
     
  6. Stoday

    Stoday

    Joined:
    4 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    1,150
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'll have a problem stuffing 2.5mm TW&E in conduit. Use conduit wire, which is stranded and more flexible.
     
  7. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,785
    Thanks Received:
    2,857
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page