New kitchen sockets .. SP or DP ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am buying new double sockets to replace the previous ones after a kitchen refurb, before the electrician comes tomorrow

I thought it would be a simple task, just pick the colour and that would be it.

I see there are SP and DP options for most, if not all sockets.

I did a quick search on t'internet, so now know what SP and DP mean and do (I think .. I'm not an electrician) but still not too sure which ones are most suitable for a kitchen environment.

Any help would be appreciated.

BTW, they will be metal clad front plates if that is important.

thanks !

Sponsored Links
It doesn't really matter for a kitchen. Double pole isolates the Neutral as well as the Live. Just make sure it's a quality brand since you will be using higher currents in the kitchen rather than a TV or lamp.

Sponsored Links
That site is just an accumulator for Amazon. Just like on most other occasions when you search for "the best______", it's an accumulator that pops up, all links to Amazon.

Google is not ALWAYS your friend! (duckduckgo is much betterer though)

Nozzle

@danechip is right, does not really matter for a kitchen, where it helps having double pole is when a line - neutral fault is causing a RCD to trip, but once fitted it is unlikely you can remember which are and aren't double pole so you unplug anyway.

Most electricians have their favourite, with some sockets having more terminal space to others, if an electrician is fitting them let him also supply them, it also helps with guarantee, if supplied and fitted no argument if it fails down to electrician, if supplied by you and fault is the socket, then electrician can charge to change it.

@danechip is right, does not really matter for a kitchen, where it helps having double pole is when a line - neutral fault is causing a RCD to trip