1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New stat to replace honeywell T40

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Murphy575, 11 Jan 2021.

  1. Murphy575

    Murphy575

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Got a new smart thermostat but struggling with the basics on wiring it in.

    All photos attached of the existing wiring and the new.

    Not sure what should go where!

    Tia
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,129
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Another Moes thermostat post :sleep:

    Assuming that these are permanent lives and neutrals:

    1 from Honeywell to L
    2 from Honeywell to N
    3 from Honeywell to 2
    1 from smart stat to L linked
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Murphy575

    Murphy575

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep another moes post

    They are just so cheap, and yes you get what you pay for but the nest looked well complicated as I don't already have a wireless thermostat, the Google nest E was so expensive so I thought I'd give the cheap a bash!


    In relation to 1 from smart stat to L linked, do you mean to run a cable to jump the connection on the cheap stat?
     
  5. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,129
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes
     
  6. Murphy575

    Murphy575

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry Chris and thank you

    Just want to double check I'm not going to blow anything up

    Moes L to Moes 1?
     
  7. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,129
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes this is correct
     
  8. Murphy575

    Murphy575

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No luck mate

    Maybe it's a duff unit or I'm just been really special
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,129
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, re-read what I have put, and give it another go. Also that stranded copper in the live could do with tidying up.

    2 from Honeywell into N (2 on Honeywell is Black)
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Murphy575

    Murphy575

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No luck mate, I've tried all sorts now with the exception of of course putting L in N!

    I've tried blue and black in 2 and 3, bridge (tidy) 1 to 4 but nada, thing won't even turn on.

    Maybe ill just give up on life!
     
  12. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    5,129
    Thanks Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any test equipment? What boiler is it?
     
  13. Murphy575

    Murphy575

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No lecky testing equipment unfortunately, the boiler is an Ideal Esprit eco2
     
  14. ericmark

    ericmark

    Joined:
    27 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    17,143
    Thanks Received:
    1,567
    Location:
    Llanfair Caereinion, Nr Welshpool
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Honeywell T40 should have a 230 volt supply to it. However it will still work without it, the Moes will not work without the 230 volt supply.
     
  15. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,801
    Thanks Received:
    7,710
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Congratulations good job they are cheap yours will probably be fused now that black wire is the N and the blue wire is a switched live
     
    Last edited: 11 Jan 2021
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Murphy575

    Murphy575

    Joined:
    7 Jan 2021
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yay I broke it, I'm good at that. At least I didn't blow up the boiler in all of this and the original honeywell is working fine ☺

    Thanks for all your help, I'm giving up
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    19,801
    Thanks Received:
    7,710
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You are lucky you didnt damage the boiler too, why ask for advive, get the correct advice , then just wire it up differently anyway ?????
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
Loading...

Share This Page