new supply with economy 7

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have got a new build to price for, something I haven't had to opportunity to do in a while, the property is to have economy 7 heating, something I have never done on a new build. In all the rewires I have ever done the economy 7 has a separate meter and two sets of tails are ran two the corresponding distribution boards.

My question is, are new supplies configured in the same way as I have experienced or will there be a 'dual tarriff meter' (something in which I have never worked with before)? Perhaps I would be better off contacting the DNO?

Depending on responses to this I would like to pick brains on peoples methods of running SWA's from an external meter cabinet to a distribution board located some distance from said cabinet.

Regards

John

Sponsored Links
"Economy 7" uses a single meter that can total day and night useage separately.

The double meter arrangement is no longer available for new supplies and was originally for off peak supplies, i.e. the night meter measured off peak useage, the other meter both day and night useage.

I see, so each storage heater will require a timer set to 'off peak' times?

I think I prefered the old method, the storage heaters were only on when off peak was available, I guess now they can potentially be over-ridden at any time.

You can get a radio teleswitch that switches the heating AND allows the supplier to smooth demand and offer more competitive rates. So, very similar to the old switching meter in that you need a separate CU for heating.

Sponsored Links
Just present two sets of tails to the metering position - Your jobs done.

The meter operator will then fit what they want to fit, be it an all in one dual rate with combined teleswitch, a seperate dual rate with external teleswitch, a timer instead of the teleswitch (jest - not since the 70's!).