Newbie- help needed- Dodgy Thermal Store Wiring?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, DIY experts :)
I am a newbie on here. Recently took the big step of buying my own property.
As a Girl I looked in the airing cupboard saw a big tank and thought, great just like my old system turn with a big old hot water tank. Then when doing loft insulation I was really confused by the lack of cold water tank in the loft!
Then I read the "hot water tank" it’s an " integrated thermal store". Its this one here to be exact. Page 3- twin pump direct mainsflow store. It’s a 20/120 tank (small three bed house)
http://www.advancedwater.co.uk/STOMEMO/A012-088-1603/Albion Mainsflow Installation Guide.pdf

Having read a bit about these systems, I think I’m using the system wrong and I have been using it like a hot water tank timing it to come on for an hour in the morning for hot water and for some heating.
I also think it’s also possibly wired wrong. The Boiler is always on as it should be however it only ever fires if Iswitch either my hot water on or the hot water and central heating on via my Lifestyle programmer beside the boiler. Obviously by system design you can’t have the heating on without the hot water and that’s why me water always goes on with the heating. If I leave my hot water on 24/7 without the heating the boiler fires maybe 4 times during the day roughly.

Now, if I have the water programmed off for most of the day except the hour in the morning when I put the heating on the boiler is constantly firing, every 15mins or so, now my understanding is that it shouldn’t be as there should be plenty hot water in the store and it should be more like more like one long burn every so often. Is this possibly because by the set up of the wiring that the store isn’t at optimal working capacity as my programmer is only putting the store on for an hour in the morning?