Newbie painting problem

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Basically I’m new to diy, in my first house and decided to paint the gas and electric meter cupboards on the outside walls of the house, I went to a diy shop and was told to use sandtex, I sanded the cupboards down, not completely to the plastic but well into the old paint.

I started applying the santex black satin paint and all seemed ok although it’s very thick and it needed about 3 coats, I waited the recommended time between coats “16 hours”

Basically I’m not happy with the end result, there are patches that have a sheen and patches that looked Matte and loads of brush marks

I read online that rubbing alcohol can be used to take the gloss off the paint but it hasn’t helped much

I would like to make the work look better, I’d like a smoother finish I just don’t know how so any input would be great as it’s stressing me out :)

Thanks everyone

Read more: https://www.diynot.com/diy/threads/newbie-painting-problem.503532/#ixzz5H1CplufL

Sponsored Links
Meter boxes are a composite material a sort of re-enforced resin as a rule, breaking through to the "unglazed" surface "like on fibreglass breaking the gel coat" will give a "matter" surface than where old gloss paint has been applied. It is called flashing where for example a hole in a porous plaster wall has been filled with a smooth filler the finish is different if the surface is not sealed evenly.
I would very lightly rub down the surface to reduce brush marks, then redo using a mini foam roller. That's what I used on mine, you will get a even slightly stippled surface, work very fast, modern water based paint dries almost instantly giving no time for brush marks to flow out like older paints. With luck you have sealed the surface by now. Avoid hot days or sunshine and wipe the surface over with a damp lint free rag just before painting. Oh and chuck the roller afterwards total waste of water trying to get them clean again!