no combi pressure

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Vaillant turbomax combi boiler, which has lost all its pressure, the temp reads around 40 and the central heating works fine, but the hot water has gradually stopped. The hot tap had to be on full for ages to get it to trigger the boiler, now I get nothing.
How do I get the pressure back up?, do I have to refill the system, if so how?

Sponsored Links
I'm not an expert on heating, and I don't know the particular boiler you have, but I have had 2 combi boilers.

With these, if the boiler needed refilling, then the heating stopped working, and the hot water flowed, it was just cold.

It could be a blockage, although if it is, I don't envy you having to search for it.

My boiler has a troubleshooting guide with it, I could have a look and see if this problem is mentioned, but I'm at work at the mo.

DOES the combi have a vent (similar to a bike/car tyre valve)? Press this in and it may release the trapped air, and get you moving again. It worked on mine after hours of farting around bleeding pipes etc. (it was located on the big red pressure vessel agaist the wall, at the top. You may also find that the pump has on too, depending on which one it is.

I'm no CH engineer though, but it worked on mine and it is only a vent after all.

i am not a heating engineer, but do not release air from the big red cyliner ( i did once) the big red cyinder is the expansion vessel, when the water gets hot it needs some where to expand hence the expansion vessel.

Inside is like a balloon and all you will be doing is releasing air from the ballon. this in turn drops the system pressure which then causes either low pressure light (if fitted) to come on and just low pressure. it then needs to be re pressureised (the balloon) enter one plumber, exit large cheque (but i now have British gas, and the engineer did confirm about the pressure vessel that is how i know.

Sponsored Links
I am not a heating engineer.