No continuity on live ends of ring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Im new to fault finding and would appreciate any help I can get, I have been called to a job where there is a open circuit on live end of the ring final, I have checked every socket for loose connections or breaks and they all check out good, the house is a 1960s property, I have no access to floors as they have recently had new flooring throughout the upstairs, im starting to think there are many jbs with in the floor as I can not locate the fault, is there any suggestions you can make to rectify this, cheers

Sponsored Links
All sockets you check, make sure they actually are tight and secure, then retest.

Check at the consumer unit that you have the correct wires, and it's not a wire for a different circuit.

If you really can't find it, you need to find out which section of wiring has the break. This can be determined by dividing up the circuit, by disconnecting sockets temporarily.

Check again if there are some sockets you haven't seen. You never know.

If no luck, and you find where the break is, you may have to run a new cable to maintain the ring.

The other alternative, if there's no other option, is to remove the damaged part of the circuit - the live, neutral and earth, and have the circuit as a radial circuit, ie not a ring. This will require a 20 or 25amp fuse, MCB, RCBO.

Or, make it into TWO radial circuits.

Are there any surface mounted double sockets?

It's not uncommon, in a house of this age, to remove a flush single socket, and fit a surface double socket over it, making a joint within the single back box.

As far as dividing the circuit goes for fault finding, disconnect a socket somewhere near the middle of the ring, then test each 'leg'.

On the faulty leg, disconnect somewhere in the middle of that, test, and so on.