No water in soap dispenser drawer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a problem with the soap dispenser drawer in my washing machine. It doesn't seem to fill with any water - at the end of a cycle the soap powder is always bone dry and the softener is untouched. I've tried all the tips for cleaning a scummy drawer i.e. ran on hot wash, crystals, vinegar, cleaning the drawer and back of drawer throughly etc. but it seems this isn't the problem, it's that no water is even getting into the drawer. I've also scrubbed the holes in the roof of the drawer to make sure they're not bunged up but still nothing. Any ideas? Ta

Sponsored Links
make and model might help

I'm not an appliance engineer but I would look at the electrically operated valves that control the water inlet

if it has a hot and cold inlet, see if either works

I am puzzled that it can run a cycle without water going into the powder or the softener containers. Is it filling through the pre-wash?

It's an Indesit WG1432. No water goes into it at all on any cycle. I have to put softener and detergent into the drum with the washing which is a pain and doesn't make them smell as nice!

I'll take a look at the inlet (when I can get the machine out that is!

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Presure chamber blocked. Won't fill just thinks it's got water in it but still comes out dry with powder all over it

No sorry I meant no water goes into the drawer on any cycle. Water goes into the drum as normal. Should have been clearer, sorry

Impossible water must go into the dispenser then into hose then into drum. It can't jump from inlet hose to drum. Remove the lid and you will see what I mean.

:confused:

very odd.

is a burst or disconnected hose possible? I would be very interested to see what path the water is taking.

Burst pipe yes but floor and feet very very wet.

Rocks1 is correct.

Remove the whole soap tray, and turn washer on, look inside and look where water is going.