Not fast enough...

G

Goldspoon

I am an aspirant plumber gradually increasing my experience (and presently working with others to gain experience).

Got a phone call this morning, whilst still eating my Weetabix, from a chap who is a landlord and the tenant is an old dear who had a "drip coming from a pipe on the loo" and could I ring her.

I had planned to not work today but as it was only around the corner I said I'd ring her. I did, straight away.

Feeling in a good mood and aiming to please I said "I can be round within one hour, is that suitable?". The answer slightly took me aback: "Not really, can't you make it sooner?". "What, sooner than 'within one hour'" I said. "Yes" she said. "How about within 45 minutes?" I joked. ""Within 30 minutes would be preferable" she said, deadpan.

Just made me laugh. Me expecting to be praised for being there within the hour and her thinking it was not good enough.

Sponsored Links
you should know by now that you should be waiting round the corner for them when they have a leak, or been their yesterday.

you should know by now that you should be waiting round the corner for them when they have a leak, or been their yesterday.

call that being half decent?

a good plumber wouldnt have been skulking around the corner.

he would have been straight in there before the leak occured.

call yourself a decent plumber? ha

i shake my elderberries in your general direction :LOL:

After that conversation i would be reluctant to turn up at all, dont like people who think you owe them something or are making demands before you have even met them or done work for them.
Part of quoting for jobs for me was to see if the potential customer was someone i could get along with and was willing to do work for,just as they were doing with me,.

Sponsored Links
After that conversation i would be reluctant to turn up at all, dont like people who think you owe them something or are making demands before you have even met them or done work for them.