1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Number plate recognition camera

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by lostinthelight, 28 Apr 2020.

  1. lostinthelight

    lostinthelight

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    2,264
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Basically, can I whack a card in ,connect the power supply and set it to its task?
    Whats the model and cost of the camera your referring to, if it turns out reliable I may get one to go elsewhere?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No you cant power it only and set it to task.
    the ANPR camera should have an SD card slot and you could take snapshots on there

    we shall see how reliable the color vu camera is, its early days.
     
  4. lostinthelight

    lostinthelight

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    2,264
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats what I said ," can i whack a card in "
     
  5. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It needs setting up and maybe tweaking not whack it in and go!
    Depends on the camera and its requirements.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. lostinthelight

    lostinthelight

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    2,264
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All I know is it has the anpr software ready loaded
     
  7. scott1980

    scott1980

    Joined:
    3 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    501
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They're definitely not a "point and go" camera. Take a look at some of the videos on YouTube on how to set it up, there's too much to go over on a forum really
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  8. lostinthelight

    lostinthelight

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    2,264
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I took the camera to my Sons and plugged it in to his hikvision setup to try it out.
    I have now hooked it to my laptop with network cable and tried modifying the network parameters with SADP to suit but my password I registered with isnt recognised...does anyone have any theories on this one please.
     
  9. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so you powered it up on your sons NVR?

    and you plugged it and powered it up on yours or on a poe switch?

    probably find its using your sons password, so default the camera and start again.
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. lostinthelight

    lostinthelight

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    2,264
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes powered on sons nvr , when home powered with 12v power supply
     
  12. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and plugged it into your router and you can see the ip address in sadp?
     
  13. lostinthelight

    lostinthelight

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    2,264
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I can see 192.168.254.2 , if I reset, will that wipe anything anpr settings os the like?
    Edit, not plugged into router, the laptop
     
  14. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes the reset would wipe the settings.

    You cant possibly program up the ANPR properly at your sons house, but that is a separate issue.

    Can you access the login screen for the camera?
    If so then you may want to tru your sons login details, as they could have been pushed to the camera from the NVR.
     
  15. lostinthelight

    lostinthelight

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    2,264
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    would it wipe settings before purchased or just ones since we had it?
    I didnt really want to set it up at my Sons, we wanted to make sure it worked and see what it worked like compared to his dome cams and until I get an nvr was going to set it up through the window as an observation cam.
    I can log into the camera and even if I enable DHCP it doesnt display a picture
    Btw, whats unbinding and is it relevant?
     
  16. lostinthelight

    lostinthelight

    Joined:
    11 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    2,264
    Thanks Received:
    408
    Location:
    monmouthshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    26C1B466-0839-4D3E-BB0F-C10EDFD173A6.jpeg Now have picture logging in with Sons user name and password
     
  17. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,543
    Thanks Received:
    548
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The network settings are irrelevant as to seeing the picture.
    You can click on help whilst in the menus and it will bring you up a short description of most of the settings.

    ANPR is a different ball game to a standard CCTV camera.

    At night time specifically the anpr is likely to be very dark other than the number plate its reading.
     
Loading...

Share This Page