OSO Unvented Water Heater

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've stumbled across this brilliant site whilst trying to shed some light on how to use the water heater in my new apartment. It's the OSO Direct 20 RD. I have no knowledge what so ever with water heaters, electronics etc, so was hopeing some here may be able to help :rolleyes:

I have 2 switches on the wall attached to the heater, which I've been turning both on for a couple of hours at night and then turning them back off. I also have a timer in the cupboard where the water heater is located, but have no idea if this is related. And in the hallway I also have a thermostat.

I have no idea how I should be using any of these to provide the most efficient results. I've added pics below of all components below.

Appreciate your time.

Sponsored Links
Have you got a dual-tariff supply?

Commonly the idea is to run the bottom element during cheap rate and use the top element if you need to top-up the hot water during the day, so you have a timer which turns the bottom element on and off to use cheap electricity, and a boost button which switches on the top element for a hour or two.

The thermostat is for your heating - what do you have?

There are two heating elements. The bottom one should be operated by the timer to only work when your electricity supply is on the low tariff. Depending upon your electricity supplier / tariff, this is usually either 7 hours during the night (economy 7) or 7 hours at night plus some daytime boost periods (economy 10) that way the whole tank is heated with electricity at about one third of the normal peak rate cost. The power to the timeswitch should be left on permanently and the times set to turn the element on and off during the cheaper periods.

The top element is designed as a top up to be used as a boost if you run out of stored hot water. This is operated manually, but you will be using full price electricity if you use it in the peak tariff time.