Oven light on when not in use - thermostat?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I have a Rangemaster 110 electric oven, the left hand oven red light is permanently on even when the oven is not turned on (it's been like this quite a long time).

After isolating & disconnecting from mains I tested the elements, getting a reading of around 50 on the multimeter, suggesting elements are ok?

I took front panel out and tested thermostat switch, getting a reading of around 0.09, is this normal? I'm assuming I tested it correctly. Attached a few pictures below.

The bottom of the thermostat switch unit is quite brown, possibly from burning out?? There was a dead spider attached to part of it.

20200804_100754.jpg

Bottom is a bit brown/black and looks like a bit is broken off?
20200804_102132.jpg
20200804_101903.jpg

After disconnecting all wires I put multimeter on the two terminals circled in red...

20200804_111442.jpg

Thanks,

Attachments

• 20200804_114744.jpg
    20200804_114744.jpg
    216.9 KB · Views: 70
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
I have a Rangemaster 90, I presume similar for the left oven at least, it's brand new and the oven light can be switch on irrespective of the oven being switched on, does yours not just have a push button to switch the light on and off?

Sorry I've edited my post as it was misleading... it's not the oven light as in internal light, I meant the red light on the front next to the on off dial. That's the one that's always on, even when not in use.

20200804_114744.jpg

Sponsored Links
Thanks. The switch still works fine, turns oven on/off etc if that makes a difference?

Any idea what could cause that kind of blackening? Anything to be concerned about?

Thanks. The switch still works fine, turns oven on/off etc if that makes a difference?

Any idea what could cause that kind of blackening? Anything to be concerned about?